Get Involved!

Northwest Vermont Rail Trail Council

Volunteer enthusiasm is the hallmark of the Northwest Vermont Rail Trail Council, a non-profit organization that represents communities along the trail, trail users, and local businesses. The Council advises the State on trail issues, assists trail users, and helps make trail improvements. It also raises funds for small maintenance projects and amenities, like benches and picnic tables.

The Council is made up of representatives from the 9 communities through which the MVRT passes as well as trail users. The Council holds regular business meetings which are open to the public. They are held on the third Monday of every other month.

If you are interested in potentially joining the council please contact

Upcoming Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail Meetings

September 21, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.

Location TBD. Agenda coming soon.

November 16, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.

Location TBD. Agenda coming soon.


Missisquoi Valley Trail Meeting Minutes


[Need dates and Minutes]


January 14, 2019

May 13, 2019

[Any other meetings?]



Current Members of the Northwest Vermont Rail Trail Council

Chair – David Stanley
Vice-Chair – Carol Hickey
Treasurer – Cynthia Scott


Elected Members

Don Mueller
Alisha Sawyer
Dave Stanley
Nini Worman
Cynthia Scott

St. Albans City – Jim Smith
St. Albans Town – Robert Bessette
Swanton – vacant seat
Fairfield – Jane Williams
Sheldon – Marie Brouillette
Enosburg Falls – Ellen Stanley
Enosburg Town – Bob Gervais
Berkshire – Carol Hickey
Richford – Phyllis Tiffany
VAST – Mark Bushey

Appointed Representatives